A Strange Nobel Peace Prize – WSJ

Not everyone who wins a Nobel Peace Prize is undeserving. Lech Walesa, Andrei Sakharov, Aung San Suu Kyi and Liu Xiaobo won for demanding human rights and democracy from despotic regimes. Menachem Begin and Anwar Sadat, and later Nelson Mandela and F.W. de Klerk, put past enmities aside to forge a durable peace. George Marshall helped save Europe from chaos; Norman Borlaug saved much of the world from starvation.

But these are exceptions to a rule in which the prize goes to the champions of false peace and naive good intentions. Such was the case Friday when the Norwegian Nobel Committee bestowed the honor on Colombian President Juan Manuel Santos, lately in the news for failing to persuade voters to endorse his peace deal with the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia (FARC) guerrillas.

Source: A Strange Nobel Peace Prize – WSJ